The Song of India

I closed my eyes and all I could hear was the sound of singing. Sweet melodies filled the room, a chorus of Indian voices singing out a Hindi chorus to Jesus. Little did I know the chorus they were singing was more than just a sweet song, it was worship that challenged my heart.

“Even if I were cut into 1000 pieces, never would I stop singing Jesus’ name. For nothing will ever take your name from my lips.”

The reality that I was humbly standing in the midst of India’s persecuted church began to hit me. People who know what it really means to pick up your cross and follow him. For their decision for Christ could very well mean their lives. I am undone and forever changed.

 

India is quickly becoming one of the fastest growing churches history has ever seen. They estimate 15000 people are accepting Christ on a daily basis. With this incredible move of God, also comes much persecution, especially in the Northern Region of Punjab where we spend a few days by the Pakistan border.  As I stood in a village of an unreached area of India, I was changed as I looked into the dimly lighted crowd to see the image of a beautiful Indian man with tears falling from his softly closed eyes. For a moment, closed off the world around him and with eyes sealed shut, he just couldn’t help himself but be overwhelmed as he began to get a better look at the beauty of this man named Jesus.

That night we got to worship, speak of the incredible simple goodness of God, pray for the sick and see healings. I quickly found myself sitting on the very uneven ground surrounded by women and babies, soaking up every moment in the presence of Jesus with them. His presence was truly beautiful that night. It was an honor.

 

My two and a half week journey in India consisted of everything from spending time with youth in a rehab youth center, playing with the kids on the street, sharing my testimony, training up young and old worship leaders, and getting to sing my heart out in the cities of Hubli, Mumbai, Dehli, and Armristar and Punjabi villages. We experienced everything from early morning flights, to all night burns on buses, trains, crazy crazy taxis and motorcycles. To many it seemed a little insane, and maybe it was a bit. . .but we are so convinced and blinded by the childlike optimism of the God of Hope that we just can’t help ourselves. We can’t help ourselves but see the crime, murder and intense rapes happening in the city of New Delhi and feel the intense draw to GO there. With guitars, ukuleles, tambourines, and shakers in hand and songs in our hearts, we KNOW and are convinced His presence is the only answer.

It says in Psalm 22:3 that “ the Lord is enthroned on the praises of His people.“ And in Psalm 89:14 it says that “Righteousness and justice are the foundation of His throne; Loving kindness and truth go before Him.”

So if this is true, than I conclude that at the sound of our voice and simple song to Him, Heaven comes down. He alone IS worthy and I know that those words sung out is sweet incense to Him that He can not resist. A heartbeat goes out that calls for a pilgrimage back to His heart for many who are lost. Aka. . . HARVEST TIME.  J

We got to put on a 5 hour burn in New Delhi, that city supposedly filled with crime and hopelessness. As I am listening to a girl get up on stage and testify of how the presence of God has just healed her of an intense stuttering problem. . . I become even more convinced of these truths. His presence is enough. Not being able to speak more than a word of two at a time for her whole entire life, she began to sing out a song to the Lord that she had never been able to do before. For probably the first time in her life she began to preach to us with tears falling from her eyes and a huge smile she declared, “ I am called to be a voice to the nations.” Her heart spilt with freedom and joy.

 

I really believe this is a picture of what God is doing. Giving a voice to the voiceless and a song to the captive ones that releases praise in the nations!

We got to see the hunger of hundreds and hundreds of Indians saying they want to give their lives to love Jesus and worship Him all across their nation and to the ends of the Earth. I am simply overwhelmed.

 

The promises of God is a powerful thing. Hope in these promises is even more powerful. As I got to sit with a young 18 year old girl who’s parents died, left alone and confused, stuck in poverty and hear her testify of this man named Jesus who took care of her, her whole life; I am ruined for any other lover. As I looked into the eyes of a once Hindu single mother, left and abandoned by all those she thought were supposed to love her. As I looked in her eyes and heard her speak of the goodness of God that found her like no other could, that no matter what happens in her life, that the name of Jesus Christ will always be found on her lips. .  I am convinced. I am convinced that there is no end to this love. I am convinced that God is filling India with the song of the redeemed that breaks every chain of injustice and darkness. I am convinced and fully confident that I am the luckiest girl on the planet to be loved by such a man.

 

I just wanted to finish by sharing something I wrote in India, I feel it kind of sums up a big part of this trip for me.

 Be blessed and thank you for reading!  LOVE YOU GUYS!

 

 

“Eyes fixed, gaze steady, you never turn away

Not one forgotten, not one lost from your sight

Rhythms of a heartbeat heard, the call of pilgrimage

Home into true embrace

 

 

As a refuge, you spread your wings over me

Covered completely in your love

Peace takes home in my heart

Finally I breathe once again

 

 

There is hope for the captive when a throne is made

make way for the King

with the song that you sing.”

 

ImageImageImageImage

One thought on “The Song of India

Leave a comment