Hidden Treasures of Darkness – Salem 2013

Image

“I will give you the treasures of darkness and hidden riches of secret places. That you may know that I, the Lord, who call you by your name, am the God of Israel.” Isaiah 45:3

I remember the first time when this verse jumped out of the page and literally hit me over the head with revelation! 🙂 I was leading a devotional set on my 22nd birthday in Harrisburg, getting ready to take a team to DR. Congo. Even though I had read this chapter many times before, it all of a sudden STRUCK my heart with such weight. . THIS is what I am called for, this is the desire of His heart, and this is what I AM to Him. . a treasure that was hidden in darkness. Covered in my sin and shame, I did not know Him and yet He knew me by name. He loved me and desired to deliver me out of the hands of death and impossible hopelessness. He didn’t see the darkness, but saw the treasure. . .  and that the treasure was worth piercing every dark night and going to the ends of earth for it’s redemption. 

When I say this verse has haunted my life, I mean it literally has haunted my life! haha BUT seriously. . . I can’t get away from it, I can’t get it out of my head and there is no words to describe the feeling of love that fills my heart when I read it. In this verse contains a promise of hope for every people, every nation that is “too dark” or “too hopeless”, “in too much war”, “too hard hearted”. To every nation that is ridden with death and poverty, to every slum that is filled with sex trafficking and slavery, to every street filled with drugs and crime, to every family broken to pieces, marriages fallen apart . . .YOU ARE HIS TREASURE.

This is His Treasure and as sons and daughters of the light and of the King, this is OUR TREASURE.

 

TO SALEM. . . 

So with this in my heart we headed to Salem, MA for one of the biggest witch gatherings and Halloween festivities in North America. This is city is KNOWN for witches and magic . . I mean when you drive in you see “witch museum” to the left, pagan churches, and “physic readings”  on every street corner. There IS a lot of entertainment and that is a huge pull for many people gathering, but in the midst of that, there really is many people there for more than just a drunken party. We arrived and jumped straight into worship. 60 hours of straight worship and enthroning Jesus was our starting place in this city that would be considered one of America’s “darkest”. We really take Ps 108:2-3  seriously when it says

” I will sing and make music with all my soul. Awake, harp and lyre! I will awaken the dawn. I will praise you, Lord, among the nations.”

Image

 

Where there is darkness. .  lets praise!! And then from that place of first love we GO OUT to find the treasures as labourers in this harvest that is ripe! So we did two days of outreach while worship was going on. We set up booths for free dream interpretation and free spiritual readings (aka prophecy) :). Then on Halloween night all 100 of us hit the streets with worship, signs for free healings, spiritual readings and to go on a massive treasure hunt to see who God would encounter!  All of my preconceived ideas about what a witch or a warlock was, got shattered over the time I got to interact with many of them over this weekend. I didn’t see “pure evil” or “darkness” but someone looking for love, someone desiring acceptance, and someone who needs a Saviour. As people sat down in front of us for a spiritual reading, or for healing. .His love overwhelmed me for them!! These were the treasures Jesus was desiring.

I am so happy to say that between all of our teams we saw hundreds of healings, including a girl’s completely deaf ear open up, dozens of salvations and so many people leaving crying because God’s love had encountered them. We danced on the streets with signs and flags in our hands, having FUN with smiles on our faces!! Seeing people get set free IS FUN!!!! One girl sat down in front of us and with tears in her eyes said to me and my team after we had prophesied over her .  . .” wow, why did I just pay $35 to get a physic reading!?! I should have just come here, this is WAY BETTER!” 

ImageImageImageImage

 

HE IS WAY BETTER than any thing this world can offer! 

 

Thanks so much for reading, I hope you were encouraged!! Thank you everyone for covering our team in prayers as we went to Salem and for your prayers over my life. I truly do feel them and am so THANKFUL for each of you in my life!! 

 

LOVE 

Kelsie

One thought on “Hidden Treasures of Darkness – Salem 2013

  1. Good Job! When we do what we should be doing…which is what Jesus did…be in the centre of the lost sharing love, healing and the “good news”, lives are transformed. Go Girl!

Leave a comment